Health and Safety Consultation Committee (HSCC)

The Head of School (HoS) has ultimate responsibility for work health and safety in BEES.  The HoS is assisted in this regard by the Health and Safety Manager and the HSCC.

The BEES HSCC constitution is available here. This document was last modified 7th of April 2016.

The BEES HSCC consists of the Head of School (or representative), HS Manager and the HS Representatives (elected or appointed members from the BEES work groups).  Elections for HS Representatives are held every three years (next election scheduled for February 2018), and there is no limit to the number of terms an individual member of the committee may serve.

Formal meetings are held four to six times per year. If you wish to have an issue discussed at a meeting, please raise the issue with your HS Representative (see contact list below) or contact the Chairperson or the Secretary.

Members of the current HS Consultation Committee: 

Head of School 

Allistair Poore

D26 L5 West


Professional Staff Rep / Chair

Frank Hemmings

D26 L2 East


HS Manager

Theresa Kahwati



Kate Brandis    

CCRC / Secretary

Bronwen Smith    

Water Activities

Rochelle Johnston    

General Fieldwork

Len Martin    

Student Rep


Radiation / Drones

Mira van der Ley    

Faculty HS Coordinator

Theresa Kahwati    

Professional Staff

Lucy Dobson    

Minutes of meetings are distributed to all School members by email. Minutes are archived, and the latest minutes appear below:

07 December 2017

12 October 2017

29 June 2017

09 March 2017

01 December 2016