School of BEES Equity and Diversity

The School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences aims to provide a safe, supportive and welcoming environment for all staff and students regardless of their race, sex, age, religion, disability, sexual orientation or gender identification. As such, the School strongly supports UNSW's Equity and Diversity Policy in regard to these matters.

Through the Student Services Office, we coordinate special provisions for SEADU students. The liaison person for SEADU students in the School is Faye Mo, Student Advisor (Biosciences Student Office).

We believe that Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer (Questioning) students and staff ought to be able to enjoy their time with us without experiencing any sense of alienation or ill-treatment at the hands of either fellow staff or students in the University.

The ALLY@UNSW Network is a lighthouse program that aims to ensure UNSW is a safe, welcoming place for all students and staff who identify as LGBTIQ. The ALLY training program aims to make UNSW a great place for everybody by reducing barriers of fear and ignorance that lead to prejudice and discrimination.  If you would like to contact any of the following BEES affiliated ALLIES, they will be happy to hear from you and provide confidential referral advice.

Chantel Benbow c.benbow@unsw.edu.au Technical Officer
Justin Chan justin.y.chan@unsw.edu.au PhD Student
Hamish Craig h.c.craig@unsw.edu.au PhD Student
Stephen Gray stephen.gray@unsw.edu.au Manager (ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate Extremes)
Amy Hooper amy.hooper@unsw.edu.au PhD Student
Jessica McConkey j.mcconkey@unsw.edu.au Administrative Officer
Katrin Meissner k.meissner@unsw.edu.au Director (Climate Change Research Centre)
Jonathan Russell j.russell@unsw.edu.au Administrative Officer