School of BEES Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

The School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences aims to provide a safe, supportive and welcoming environment for all staff and students regardless of their race, sex, age, religion, disability, sexual orientation or gender identification. As such, the School strongly supports UNSW's Equity and Diversity Policy in regard to these matters.

The Faculty of Science Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (SEDI) Working Group provides strategic direction and leadership in line with UNSW's 2025 Strategy to support an equitable workplace for all staff and students of UNSW Faculty of Science. Associate Professor Adriana Verges is the current BEES representative member of the SEDI Working Group. At the School level the School of BEES, together with the School of BABS has an Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee. Adriana co-chairs the committee with BABS SEDI Working Group representative member Dr Brendan Burns.


The ALLY@UNSW Network is a lighthouse program that aims to ensure UNSW is a safe, welcoming place for all students and staff who identify as LGBTIQ (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender/Transsexual, Intersex and Queer/Questioning). The ALLY training program aims to make UNSW a great place for everybody by reducing barriers of fear and ignorance that lead to prejudice and discrimination.  If you would like to contact any of the following BEES ALLY contacts, they will be happy to hear from you and provide confidential referral advice.

Suhelen Egan - s.egan@unsw.edu.au
Amy Hooper - amy.hooper@unsw.edu.au
Jessica McConkey - j.mcconkey@unsw.edu.au
Katrin Meissner - k.meissner@unsw.edu.au
Jonathan Russell - j.russell@unsw.edu.au
Claire Sives - claire.sives@student.unsw.edu.au

Bonnie Teece - b.teece@unsw.edu.au
Sebastian Vadillo Gonzalez - s.vadillogonzalez@unsw.edu.au