Professor Andy Pitman
Field of Research: 
Terrestrial processes in global and regional climate modeling
Contact details:
+61 2 9385 7075
Room 458

Mathews Building (F23)
UNSW, Kensington 2052


Andy is a climate modeler with a major focus on terrestrial processes in global and regional climate models. He has explored the global and regional impacts of land cover change and currently co-leads the Land use change: identification of robust impacts project. He has interests in climate extremes and how these are likely to change in the future. His leadership and research experience is extensive nationally and internationally. Between 2004 and 2010 he convened the ARC Research Network for Earth System. Since 2011 he has been the Director of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Climate System Science. This national centre involves five Universities, major Australian research agencies and many international groups. Andy is a member of the Academy of Science’s National Committee for Earth System Science and the NSW Minister for the Environment's Science Advisory Committee. He is closely affiliated with the World Climate Research Program (WCRP). He was chair of the WCRP’s Land Committee for the Global Land Atmosphere System Study from 2006 to 2008, and is now on its Science Steering Committee.

Andy a regular invitee for keynote presentations and is a passionate communicator about science, contributing regularly to the media on the science of climate change. He was a lead author for IPCC assessment reports three and four, contributing to the award of the Nobel Peace Prize to the IPCC in 2007. He was a Review Editor in the latest report. He contributed to the Copenhagen Diagnosis, an Australia-led update of the science of climate changeHe has held editorial positions with the Journal of Climate and the Journal of Geophysical Research-Atmospheres and is currently editor for the International Journal of Climatology.

Awards and accolades include: NSW Scientist of the Year Award (2010), the Australian Meteorological and Oceanographical Medal (2009), the Priestly Medal for Excellence in Atmospheric Science Research (2004) and the Geoff Conolly Memorial Award (2004). He jointly won the International Justice Prize for the Copenhagen Diagnosis (2010) and was among Sydney Magazine’s list of the 100 most influential people (2010).