UNSW Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences has staff trained in Mental Health First Aid. Together with UNSW Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, our School supports mental wellbeing through the Flourish Mentally initiative.

Did you know that university students are three times more likely to suffer from psychological distress? The warning signs include:

  • Academic: loss of motivation, decline in quality of work and avoiding participation
  • Physical: extreme fatigue, complaints of sleep problems and physical health complaints
  • Emotional: irritability, frequently tearful and sustained low mood
  • Behavioural: poor self-care, extreme dependency on staff, excessively demanding of others and withdrawing from friends and family

To access support, visit the UNSW Counselling and Psychological Services website.

If you have any questions or concerns about the mental health of yourself or another, please contact one of our Mental Health First Aid Officers.

Mental Health First Aid Officers

Lucy Dobson
Admin Assistant, Bio Sci North, 520
T: 9385 9443
E: lucy.dobson@unsw.edu.au

Brenda Hartley
Project Officer, Bio Sci North, 520
T: 9385 2029
E: b.hartley@unsw.edu.au

Tim Nguyen
Technical Officer, Bio Sci North, 220
T: 9385 2023
E: thinh.nguyen@unsw.edu.au

Jonathan Russell
Administrative Officer, Bio Sci North, 520
T: 9385 0637
E: j.russell@unsw.edu.au

Biljana Ilkovski
Laboratory Manager, Bio Sci South, L3 West
T: 9385 1690
E: b.ilkovski@unsw.edu.au

Melissa Hart
Associate Professor, Mathews L4
T: 9385 6263
E: melissa.hart@unsw.edu.au

Mira van der Ley
Snr. Tech. Officer, Bio Sci South, LG015
T: +61 400 719 861
E: m.vanderley@unsw.edu.au

Behnam Sadeghi
PhD Student, Bio Sci South, L5 East
E: b.sadeghi@student.unsw.edu.au

Bernadette Phu
Technical Officer, Bio Sci South, G004
T: +61 415 303 269
E: bernadette.phu@unsw.edu.au

Sexual Misconduct First Responders

If you’re a UNSW staff member or student who has experienced sexual assault, harassment or misconduct, you can gain support by visiting UNSW Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.

If you would like to talk with someone in person, we have trained Sexual Misconduct First Responders that can provide you with one-on-one support. First Responders understand that reporting sexual misconduct can be difficult. They are not counsellors, but they are trained to provide an appropriate initial response to your concerns and guide you to the right services

Mira van der Ley
First Responder, Room LG015, Building E26
T: +61 400 719 861
E: m.vanderley@unsw.edu.au

Laura Wilson
First Responder, Room G14, Samuels F25
T: 9385 3866
E: laura.wilson@unsw.edu.au