BEES scientists nominated for Eureka Prizes

Dr Adriana Vergés and scientists in the Operation Crayweed Team and Professor Andy Pitman have been named as finalists in this year's Eureka prizes, Australia's most high profile science awards.

In all, a record 12 UNSW and UNSW-affiliated researchers and teams have been nominated for the awards, which recognise excellence in research and innovation, leadership, science engagement and school science.

UNSW's researchers are drawn from the faculties of Science, Engineering and Medicine, including from the Kirby Institute, Children’s Cancer Institute, and the George Institute.

UNSW Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Nicholas Fisk said the result betters the University’s record of 10 finalists achieved in 2008.

“This impressive field of finalists demonstrates the depth and diversity of the impressive research talent we have across UNSW,” he said.

“I congratulate all finalists on being recognised among our nation’s very best in science and wish them the best of luck.”

The winners of the 'Oscars of Australian science' will be announced at a gala dinner in Sydney on 30 August.

The BEES finalists are:

  • Professor Andy Pitman – CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Innovation and Science: Over the past 15 years, Professor Andrew Pitman has demonstrated visionary leadership in the field of climate science. By bringing together a consortium of leading universities and institutions he has transformed the scale and impact of Australian climate science research.